Ranji Trophy to start on February 10

The great news for the Indian domestic cricket is that the Ranji Trophy startss on February 10th, 2022, and the first phase of the tournament runs until March 15th. The second phase of the two-phase competition will take place from May 30th to June 26th, 2022.

“We have rolled out the Ranji Trophy in nine different locations across the country to mitigate the risk of cross-transmission while ensuring the biosecure bladders are not overloaded. While the ongoing virus has still burst the bubble, we have considered certain contingency plans building on our past experience in formulating this structure,” BCCI Secretary Jay Shah wrote to state entities on Thursday (February 3).

Ranji Trophy

According to the schedule published by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI), a total of 64 matches will be played over 62 days across nine venues. Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Rajkot, Delhi, Guwahati, Cuttack, Trivandrum, Chennai, and Haryana will host the two-stage championship.

Ranji Trophy 2022

Under the format in circulation, a team can play a maximum of seven games, while the minimum number of games is only three for at least 29 teams in the Elite and Plate groups.

In this format, the elite teams in a group play against each other, while the plate teams only play against three teams from their group. One team from each elite group qualifies for the quarterfinals, with the exception of one team that must play a game before the quarterfinals. The lowest-ranked of the eight ranked elite teams must play the highest-ranked team in the plate group in the previous quarter-finals. The draw for the Quarterfinals will take place after the Pre-Quarterfinals.

As is known, the two phases will be played on both sides of the IPL (from the end of March to the end of May) and the first phase will consist of 57 games. The qualifiers have seven games starting immediately after the IPL. Kolkata will host the Plate Group games. Neither team can play at home, all games take place at neutral venues.

Today Fixtures © 2022